What is this?
Technically, Socks Inc. is a transmedia storytelling game; but we just call it “fun” around here.
Socks, Inc. is in “beta”.... what does that mean?
This beta version of socksinc.com is the first version released publicly for the purpose of evaluation by players. Our beta release allows you to play test the basic functionality of the game and use the feedback tools provided to tell us how you feel about it. Beta testers get to watch the site grow and change and can have a direct influence in the final product. Lucky you. :)
Who should play Socks Incorporated?
Anybody over 13. Although our content has not been evaluated by the MPAA, we consider it comparable to PG materials that have been rated by the MPAA.
How does it work?
The characters in Socks Incorporated bring you on many adventures in their fictional alternate reality by way of the video clips on our site. These videos inspire and require the player to tell their own stories with their sock puppet. Each player creates their own sock puppet adventures and uploads photos and videos of them to unlock more videos!
I don’t have a sock puppet, can I still play?
Without a Sock, you can register and check out some of the content other player’s have submitted. To complete missions and level up, you will need to make a puppet. It’s easy to do!
Do I have to make my sock puppet using the same puppet making techniques you show in your How to
Make a Sock Puppet video?
No! You can make your sock puppet however you want! As long as, like, you know…. it is a sock turned into a puppet.
Does Socks, Inc. cost anything to play?
Nope! We hope to offer some special privileges, content, and digital and real world goodies for small fees in the future. But the game is totally free.
What are the technical requirements of my photos and videos?
Image submissions should be JPEGs smaller than 4MB. Videos must be uploaded to youtube.com and then the YouTube URL submitted to socksinc.com. All videos should be less than 3 minutes in length.
Who can see the photos and videos I upload to your site?
Each and every time you upload a piece of content (an image file or YouTube video URL that embeds on the site) you are asked if you would like that piece of content to be public. If you opt to make it public, all players and guests on the site can view it. If you do not choose to make it public then it is private and will only appear on the site in your personal profile. (note: if you submit a private video to Socks Incorporated, it can still be viewed on YouTube!)
What does it mean to have a public profile?
When you sign up to play you are asked if you would like to make your profile public. When your profile is public, other players and guests can see your earned badges, game progress, Sock info, and a stream of the content that you have submitted (only public, see answer above). You can change the privacy setting of your profile at ay time by clicking the “Edit Profile” link in your profile.
Why do I have to upload my videos to YouTube?
Awkward Hug does not have the money to be hosting all of your videos, plus why reinvent the wheel... we are busy reinventing other things. We are in no way affiliated with YouTube. Your videos must be "listed" to embed properly on this site.
Are player submissions moderated?
All public content is moderated. A player is notified by email when their public submission is accepted and accessible by others on socksinc.com.
How are submissions moderated and what are the guidelines?
Moderators may reject submissions for many reasons. The most common reasons are inappropriate content, not fulfilling a requirement of the mission, and excessive length (for videos). To better understand what is considered appropriate in our community, please review our Community Guidelines. A player is notified by email when their public submission is rejected.
What happens if my submission is rejected?
When you upload a submission, you are automatically given credit for successfully accomplishing that mission. We give you the benefit of the doubt and allow you to move forward in the game and continue to complete missions and unlock videos. If a submission is rejected by a moderator, we take back the credit you received for that mission (that mission only) and lock you from moving forward in that department until you complete the mission again.
How do I know if I completed a mission?
You complete missions when you upload an image or video for that mission. When the upload is complete you will be either be brought to the next video mission in the department series, or back to the factory map. If you would like to confirm that your image or video has uploaded, check out your profile! Although it may take some time for a moderator to approve a public submission, you can always see your submissions on your profile.
I completed an entire department and the next time I visited the factory map, it indicated that I needed to complete that department. What happened?!
Check your email for an email from Mr. Barnsworth explaining that a submission you made was rejected. If you complete the mission again, the other mission icons in that department will activate again.
How do I delete a submission?
Right now, you can not delete a submission once it is uploaded. We are working on allowing a player to delete their own submissions. If you have accidentally uploaded an image or video and would like for it to be removed, please contact Mr. Barnsworth.
When will badges be out?
We are working on adding lots of functionality to socksinc.com and badges are on the top of that list! Keep an eye on our news feed on the home page for updates.